Douglas Lamb Perpetual Trophy

The Douglas Lamb Perpetual Trophy was donated by the friends and family of the late Douglas Lamb to honour his life’s dedication to quality table wine. Fittingly, it is awarded to the exhibitor of the best varietal dry Riesling at the Macquarie Group Royal Sydney Wine Show, a style Douglas championed and enjoyed himself.

Douglas’s interest in wine came whilst studying law in England, and was initially sparked by an impulse purchase of a slim book titled, ‘The Principles of Wine’ by E.J. Foote. This developed into a full-blown passion as his exposure to interesting wines and adoption of the then European culture of drinking them grew.  He enjoyed the constant learning that wine embraces and sharing knowledge amongst friends, peers and strangers alike – preferably over a glass of wine, of course.

Amongst numerous accolades and milestones, Douglas served for many years as one of three panel wine judges at Sydney’s Royal Easter Show, today known as the Macquarie Group Royal Sydney Wine Show.

2014 2013 Tertini Wines, Riesling
2013 2010 Peter Lehmann Wines, Wigan Riesling
2012 2011 Rythym Stick Wines, Red Robin Riesling
2011 2010 Jim Barry Wines, The Lodge Hill Riesling
2010 2006 Peter Lehmann Wines, Wigan Riesling
2009 2008 Helm Wines, Helm Classic Dry Riesling
2008 2002 Peter Lehmann Wines, Reserve Riesling
2007 2006 Castle Rock Estate, Riesling
2006 1998 Richmond Grove, Watervale Riesling
2005 1999 Pewsey Vale, Contours Riesling
2004 1993 Peter Lehmann Wines, Reserve Riesling
2003 1994 Leo Buring, Leonay Eden Valley Riesling